Missing the Sober Universe

cheesecake

I am here and still alive, for those of you who have noticed my absence. I so miss this connection! I am traveling around with just an I-phone (although I know you all blog from your phones, I can’t) with an entourage of relatives, with no real place to check-in with my beloved blogging friends.

So far, I’ve gone to two weddings (sober) and had a blast, three days with the parents, a week of vacation at the beach, with another long weekend with countless in-laws coming up, and the idea of drinking has barely surfaced. It holds the same power now as my desire to have a giant piece of cheesecake — I glance at it, notice it might be appetizing, realize how sick it will make me, and then POOF! — the thought is gone immediately as I turn my attention elsewhere.

What they say is true, although I never believed it. The psychological desire for alcohol goes away. I thought I’d be salivating the rest of my life, watching the world have fun without me. I could care less about it now. Amazing!

Happy Wednesday all, and I will chat with you soon.

23 thoughts on “Missing the Sober Universe

  1. Good to hear from you and glad you are doing well. I’m a bit awol myself at the moment but am reassured by the knowledge that this community is always here when I can return to it. Keep up the fun (sober!) times! Xx

    Liked by 4 people

  2. As a recent new member to the one year club [crowd goes wild screaming and cheering for Ginger] I can attest the fact that the cravings and drink envy are a dim and distant memory. I have a big Irish wedding to go to in July where in my worst nightmare they are intolerant of my new sober status and peg me down like Gulliver and pour whiskey and Guinness down my throat ha ha. My brother being the lead Lilliputian.
    You sound like you are having a blast, look forward to more news from you soon.

    Liked by 5 people

    1. This Gulliver thing can really happen! I’ve had a ‘friend’ volunteer to get me a cranberry and soda, and then deliberately get me a mixed drink. Luckily, another friend told on her. She was literally trying to pour alcohol down my throat without my permission. Watch out for that little brother! ❤️

      Like

  3. Yay for sober weddings, sober vacations and sober living generally! It’s inspiring to hear your cravings have gone away. Mine have too, mostly.
    Great to hear you’re continuing to have a blast 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  4. congrats on all these milestones in terms of going through them sober (and happy!)
    Yes, the cravings go away. They pop up now and then, but it’s much easier to dismiss them as they crop up. I don’t feed that beast, time or energy wise. It’s a waste.
    I am doing the same with sugar now (day 25) and I am going through a lot of the similar feelings – strong cravings followed by nothing. I just have to ride those urges as they come up. I have my safe “cheats” and that helps. But the mechanism is the same – desire to feel “complete” – which is total BS!

    Anyway, thanks for sharing this!

    Paul

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Paul, that was the worst part of the trip — my return to sugardom. I am now re-addicted and am on day 1 of a new sugar cleanse. I know after a few days I will feel much better. I just don’t have the willpower to be in a house full of brownies, ice cream, and wedding cake. Once again, it is that desire to feel ‘complete’ all over again. The only up side is that it has totally replaced the urge to drink. ❤️

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Well, it’s better than the urge to drink. I certainly struggle with the sugar! And yes, you will feel better for sure. I am on day 30 of no sugar and I feel really good but man I want all those brownies and cookies! Great job on getting back at it!

        Liked by 1 person

  5. So glad to hear you are doing well. I went to a wedding when I was 1 month sober and it was hell. I was an anxious mess. It’s getting better and I don’t crave it anymore, unless I’m under enormous stress. xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Even going to lunch with drinking friends was hell for me for a while. I would get so jittery for no reason. I must have been my toddler-drinking brain screaming for its blankie. I take great pains to avoid stress, but as we all know, sometimes it’s unavoidable.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

